We Go Together Like…

It’s almost too easy to identify why we allow some people into our lives.  We know they are there for moral support, or because of family ties being so…binding. But, what about those people who you have in your life and are bonded to that are just not like you at ALL?  Has someone ever looked at the two of you and noted how they can’t believe you’re friends?

Let me first point out that not all family ties are binding beyond sharing a surname or DNA. Some people in the world make up their own family of friends and compatriots who love and support them in the same way as a family. That’s one of the most beautiful things about the human race, I think–choice. You get to choose who you will bond with and stay close to.

One person who is the polar opposite of me in many ways is my sister, Nadine. We grew up in the same house, with the same parents and the same rules, but have many differences. I could sit her and mention all of the things about her that are different from me, but that’s not my goal. My goal is to point out the things about Nadine that keep us bonded as sisters as well as friends:

10565051_683686694849_7774742138486829150_n

–Nadine is always duckface ready…another way we’re different.

1.  Nadine makes the best facial expressions I have ever witnessed in my life.

My sister is a woman of few words, for the most part. She is without a doubt the strong silent type, but she is far from non-expressive. I can tell exactly what my sister is thinking by the way that she moves her eyebrows or her lips. She and I have many inside jokes that have no words. They are simple facial expressions or dance moves.  Also, if you can crack her up…you’re good.  🙂

2.  My sister is not ever on time for anything, ever.

Now, I know what you’re thinking, “How could this be something that keeps you bonded to your sister?” Save for the fact that I can be a little time challenged myself when it comes to my weekends or gym activities (sigh), I acknowledge the fact that my sister always ALWAYS will stay late. She’ll be the person to stay and help you clean up after a party; she’s the person who will help you in the kitchen while others chat in the living room. Nadine, even though she’s not the first person to say it like I am, is the type of person who lets her actions speak for her. If she loves you and wants to make you happy, she does it.  She doesn’t ask for a lot of praise about it…she just does those things.

3.  Nadine is blatantly honest.  

My sister will tell you if you have something in your teeth, if your fly is down, or ask what the heck you were thinking when you bought that shirt?  She’ll ask me, “Are you sure that’s what you want to buy?”  because she knows that I suffer from buyer’s remorse more often than not.  At least if she’s asked, she’s done her job. Being the person who is always honest isn’t an easy thing to do.  She’s got to break things to people that they might not want to hear. I value that honesty in my sister.

So, who’s the Oil to your Vinegar?  Who’s the Pickles to your Ice Cream?  Who is the person you shouldn’t go well with…but you couldn’t live without ’em?

25334_554571622269_5348398_n

This is the real essence of our friendship right here.

Leave a Reply

